President - Ellen Johnstone | Email: Ellen.Johnstone@covenanthealth.ca

Vice President - Brent Bereska l Email: brentb@nait.ca

Treasurer-Registrar - Leanne Wurban | Email: albertasonos@gmail.com

Secretary - Shauna Cruden | Email: shauna.cruden@gmail.com


With the arrival of the first Ultrasound machines in the early 1970's, the first "Ultrasound Technologists" or "Medical Sonographers" began to emerge in Alberta.

The Sonographers of the early 1970's became the founders of the Alberta Diagnostic Sonographers’ Association (ADSA).

  • September 19, 1979 – Five Edmonton Sonographers met to discuss forming a provincial society. A survey was sent to other Alberta Sonographers to request support for the idea.

  • October 27, 1979 – Fourteen Sonographers from several Alberta cities met for the first official provincial meeting.

  • June 30, 1980 – Certificate of Incorporation was received and ADSA was registered as a Society under the Societies Act of Alberta.

The early years of ADSA would accomplish the following milestones:

  • The first By-Laws for the Asociation

  • Edmonton as an official ARDMS testing site (the second in Canada)

  • Re-classification of Sonographers as a discipline separate from Radiography within the Health Sciences Association of Alberta (HSAA)

  • Founding members of the AsDSA became founding members of the Canadian Society of Diagnostic Medical Sonographers (CSDMS) which became incorporated in 1981.

From 1979 to the present ADSA has met the professional and educational needs of Alberta Sonographers by/with:

  • Educational Seminars – semi-annual and annual

  • Annual General Meetings

  • Representing Alberta Sonographers in response to Employer, Government and Public inquiries

  • Promoting the highest standards of practice for Ultrasound professionals in the province


Elected Officials are:

  • President

  • President-Elect

  • Vice-President

  • Secretary

  • Treasurer/Registrar

Other Committees are:

  • Website Committee

  • Education Committee

  • Nominating Committee

*To nominate yourself or a fellow sonographer to an executive positions, please contact albertasonos@gmail.com for further instruction.